Ling Aur Vachan


Definition of Ling (Gender) 

The words that represent feminine and masculine nouns are known as ling (लिंग). In Hindi grammar, ling or gender is categorized into two parts i.e. pulling (पुल्लिंग) and striling (स्त्रीलिंग). 

Types of Ling (Ling ke bhed) 

1. Pulling (पुल्लिंग): The words that signify masculine gender are known as pulling. In Hindi language, the words that contain gemstones, trees, mountains and months names are masculine genders.  Besides this, parts of body are also considered masculine gender. In short, the words that have aa, aav, na, pa, va in the end are usually masculine or pulling. 

2. Striling (स्त्रीलिंग): The words that indicate feminine gender are known as striling. In Hindi grammar, the names of language, dialect and speech are feminine gender. Apart from this, the words that contain “eeya” in the end are also feminine gender. In addition to this, the names of river and planets are considered feminine or striling.

Pulling  (पुल्लिंग) Striling (स्त्रीलिंग)   
 Beta (बेटl)   Beti (बेटिया)
 Abhineta (अभिनेता)  Abhinetri (अभिनेत्री)
 Ladka (लड़का)  Ladki (लड़की)
 Nana (नाना)  Naani (नानी)

Definition of Vachan (Numbers) 

The words that denote one or more than one number is known as vachan. In Hindi grammar, vachan is divided into two parts one is ekvachan and another is bahuvachan. 

Types of Vachan (Vachan ke bhed) 

1. Ekvachan (Singular): The word that represents single subject and object is known as ekvachan (एकवचन). (For eg: beti, ladke, etc.) 
2. Bahuvachan (Plural): The word that signifies more than one objects and subjects are considered as bahuvachan (बहुवचन). (For eg: bettiya, ladkiya, etc.)